Return to Headlines

Math teams from WHS & WNHS headed to State

Photo of WHS mathletes  Photo of WNHS mathlets



A few dozen high school mathletes from Woodstock Community Unit School District 200 are heading to state competition April 22 at Illinois State University.


Woodstock North High School Math Team coach Sarah Pigman said she was excited that the Thunder team qualified for state because of the students’ performance at Regionals on Feb. 25.


“We have not had our entire team qualify since I have been a coach here at North,” Pigman said. “We placed first at our Hononegah Competition, Stillman Valley Competition, we placed first in our conference, and we also took first at Regionals. It has been a great year for Woodstock North’s Math Team!” 


The Blue Streaks team placed Third at Regionals and the Algebra I team came in First Place. “This is the most plaques we have taken home at Regionals within the last 8 years. It was an amazing performance by the Blue Streaks,” Math Team coach Annamarie Spencer said.


The following is a list of Math Team members from each high school who will be competing at Illinois State University:



Woodstock North High School


Algebra: Czaria Baez, Cooper Brown, Tyler Chaney, Aubree Hansen, Kayla Masso, Parker Mauck


Geometry: Emma Enot, Will Noe, Liberty Johnson, Brenner McDowell, Saba Asghar


Algebra 2: Rafaella Burkhart, Bob Gerloff, Joe Gerloff, Claire Miranda, A.J. Ringpis, Daniel Jansen


Pre-Calculus: Justin Chase, Nicholas Dickson, Cholo Ferrolino, Ricky Lopez, Sean Pigliacelli, Kagan Tenekeci


Junior/Senior Teal 8: Rafaella Burkhart, A.J. Ringpis, Claire Miranda, Bob Gerloff, Abby Shirley, Johanna Freeman, Kagan Tenekeci, Cholo Ferrolino


Freshmen/Sophomore 2-person: Liberty Johnson, Tyler Chaney


Oral Competition: Nicholas Dickson, Joe Gerloff


Calculator Test: Nicholas Dickson, Johanna Freeman, Joe Gerloff, Will Noe, Brenner McDowell


Freshmen/Sophomore Teal 8: Aubree Hansen, Cooper Brown, Kayla Masso, Czaria Baez, Emma Enot, Will Noe, Liberty Johnson, Saba Asghar


Junior/Senior S 2-person Teal: Claire Miranda, Sean Pigliacelli.



Woodstock High School


Algebra: Marc Cheng, Krishna Patel, Colin Seminara, Eshaan Virani, Cooper Parisi, and Aidan Riak


Geometry Individuals: Trey Neuhart and Annalise Wickersheim


Pre-Calculus Individuals: Thomas Sieck and Vince Perez


Freshman/Sophomore 8-Person: Eshaan Virani, Cooper Parisi, Colin Seminara, Krishna Patel, Tyler Steponaitis, Trey Neuhart, Luke Zimmerman, Anne Perez