Return to Headlines

District 200 Board announces 2022 PRIDE winners

The Woodstock Community Unit School District 200 Board of Education recognized 18 outstanding seniors from Woodstock and Woodstock North High Schools this year designating them as recipients of 2022 PRIDE Awards.

The Board created the PRIDE Awards in 1990 to honor exceptional graduating seniors. PRIDE is an acronym that stands for “Positive Recognition in District 200 Education.”

The awards are presented in seven different categories which represent the qualities the Board believes the community values in its graduates: scholarship, personal achievement, vocational excellence, fine arts, community service, school service and athletics.

Jacob Homuth, vice president of the Board of Education and chairman of the PRIDE committee, said winners are selected by committee and high school staff members who consider many factors in determining the best representatives of each graduating class in their respective categories. “It's a thrill for us as Board members to recognize these hard-working students who've taken advantage of the opportunities they've been afforded throughout their education in District 200,” Homuth said.

“We congratulate this year's PRIDE Award winners who serve as great examples to younger students, and we look forward to learning of their progress beyond graduation.”

The 2022 PRIDE Award winners were announced at the annual Senior Awards assemblies. Winners received a special medallion to wear at graduation.

Woodstock High School

Woodstock North High School

Athletics: Ireland Dunnett, Timothy Maidment
Community Service: Nicole VandeWalker
Fine Arts
Music: Breanne Walker
Theater: Larissa Beckman
Visual Arts: Sidney Green
Personal Achievement: Christina Runkel
Scholarship: Kaia Sweet
School Service: Cian Gross
Vocational: Lauren Hinderliter

Athletics: Katelynn Ward, Braden Luschei
Community Service: Nathan Speciale
Fine Arts
Music: Jessica Forester
Visual Arts: Jordyn Lichthardt
Personal Achievement: Kailey Hogaboom
Scholarship: Marko Ortiz
School Service: Sherry Yang
Vocational: Sherry Yang

Photo of WHS 2022 PRIDE Award recipients
WHS 2022 PRIDE Award Recipients
(L to R) Ireland Dunnett, Timothy Maidment, Nicole VandeWalker, Breanne Walker, Larissa Beckman, Sidney Green, Kaia Sweet, Cian Gross, Lauren Hinderliter (Not pictured: Christina Runkel) 
Photo of WNHS 2022 PRIDE Award recipients
WNHS 2022 PRIDE Award Recipients
(L to R) Katelynn Ward, Braden Luschei, Nathan Speciale, Jessica Forester, Jordyn Lichthardt, Kailey Hogaboom, Marko Ortiz, Sherry Yang